English Skills Practice

I have had a chance to review R.I.C Publications trial publication: English Skills Practice.
I have looked through year 2, 4 and 6. As I am a year 6/7 teacher I have focused my attention on the year 6 book.

I can see a few uses for these practice booklets.
If you can’t fit in a daily use you could use it as a prior knowledge task or it could be used in class followed by a discussion/explanation. Could also be used as a homework contract.

Using this daily wouldn’t be too strenuous as there is only 20 questions per day. Using it daily I think would also reinforce the skills practised in the booklet. We all know English is a confusing and complex language and its rules can be difficult to grasp.

Having a revision at the end of each unit would let you know if the student has grasped what has been learnt in the unit and whether more explicit teaching is needed.

With schools incorporating more technology through programs such as bring your own device, having a digital copy would prove beneficial. I could even see this booklet turned into an app for Apple and Android. An app for each booklet (year level) would be ideal. If there was a way to save the results at the end they could be stored for a student record and  it could also be emailed to teacher so the results could be seen.

As I am a teacher in SA year 7 is still in primary school not high school. It would be nice to have a year 7 booklet done as well, especially soon as 6/7 classes are common, in SA anyway.

To conclude this looks like a valuable resource for any classroom and I myself will be purchasing a copy of the year 6 book along with the Teacher Guide when released.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *